build your kingdom here

 

 

Have you heard?

Rend Collective Experiment, a band from Northern Ireland (with swoon worthy accents), has the new song on the radio called Build  Your Kingdom Here.

When I heard this the first time, it reminded  me of a conversation I had recently with my mom about the body of Christ. She was telling me about a woman in the church who loves doing laundry, so she washes the towels that are used in the church kitchen each week.

When I think of the body of Christ, I often limit it to the “bigger” roles: musicians, teachers, pastors, etc. Never considering those small, often unnoticed, roles that many have. It also made me think about what skills I have that would be a way to serve the church. I’ll never  be the organist, but maybe they need someone to design slides, or put up bulletin boards.

“There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work.” 1 Corinthians 12:4-6

This verse reminds us that our gifts are from the Lord and were given to us to share his love with others. What gifts do you have and you could share with others?

thoughts?

