Ode to a Turquoise Dresser

Turquoise Dresser

Roughly 10 years ago, I ran across a picture of a faux finished turquoise dresser in magazine. Ever since, I wanted to paint my dresser in a similar style.

A couple of weekends ago, I found the time. My mom helped me paint. Thanks to a friend, Abbe, who has a furniture revolutionizing business of her own– All Dolled Up –I learned a technique to achieve a faux finish using a wax puck (see below).

Wax Puck

After priming the dresser with white Kilz, I used the wax puck like Abbe told me and rubbed it all over the edges of the dresser and wherever else I wanted the white to show through. I painted two coats of turquoise on top of the white. After it dried, I just sanded it until the white showed through.

Abbe has very pretty finished products and great tutorials on her All Dolled Up website.

Turquoise Faux Finish

I expected this project to take a week or so to finish, but it turned out to be an easy Saturday project. I think I waited until Monday or so when the paint was totally cured before I sanded. I don’t think that is necessary, however.

Now, I am very inspired. I think I may paint my desk chair next.

Turquoise Dresser

1 comment
  1. My name is Katy and I’m the social media coordinator for KILZ brand products. We are happy to hear that our product worked great for your repurposed dresser project. We would LOVE for you to share your experience by writing a review. Select a product you used, rate and write a brief description and hit submit – it’s that simple! We appreciate the feedback! Thanks!

    Link to review page: http://www.kilz.com/primer/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=8ad359ff4f72d310VgnVCM100000176310acRCRD

thoughts?

