a new laptop

The New Year was welcomed in with the flu and a BIOS corruption in my laptop. So the search for the perfect replacement ensued. The purchase required three major decisions:

1. Mac or PC
Ahh, the ever present question in the computer world. I have always dreamed of owning a Mac. But when I was adding up the costs for not only the computer, but needing to buy Office for Macs, and reformatting many of the programs I had and use on a PC the decision made itself. I was sticking with a PC.

2. Brand
What I found next was the panicky feeling I get when walking down the shampoo isle. Volumizing, cleansing, moisturizing, curling, straightening, and the list goes on when all I really wanted is a shampoo that cleans my hair. The computer section is similar. Dell, HP, Samsung, Lenovo, Toshiba, and so on when all I really want was a laptop whose BIOS wasn’t corrupted and whose battery lasted longer than two minutes. To make a long story short, I’ve had bad experiences with Dell and HP. I researched a few other branded and I decided to try Lenovo.

3. What the heck kind of Lenovo?
I needed one that would run Adobe Creative Suite, decent screen size but still portable, lightweight, and nice to look at. This is what I ended up with:

lenovo-ideapad-u430-touch

A Lenovo IdeaPad U430, isn’t it cute.

thoughts?

